Seven Chakras

Special Poses to open your seven chakras

Posted On : 31 December 2016.

Posted By : Yogi Mahesh Chetan.

Special Poses to open your seven chakras

We have seven most important chakras in our body’s system which are mooladhara, swadhisthana, manipura, vishudhi, and . If there is balance in your chakras then energy going in our body will also be balanced. So for a normal person, it is very important to balance these chakras by simple posture, which are:

What are Chakras

Word Meaning - Chakra means wheel or circle. In context of energy chakras, it means specific areas in which energy channels are joining a particular point in a particular circle, similar to a wheel. Each chakra works like a switch to distribute energy in [particular areas of our body. When our mind is happy, calm and balanced, chakras are also balanced and they distribute energy to the nadi and the body. There are thousands of chakras in our body but there are seven major chakras which are
Short Description of Seven Chakras:

1. Root Chakra - Muladhara Chakra

Root chakra is related to survival and safety of humans and is closest when related to earth. This chakra is set in the base of or spine. Its color is red and is naturally associated to earth. In order to keep this chakra healthy, one must do exercises such as jogging, climbing, jumping and dancing. We must work to ensure our safety and that of our family members. And this can be done by balancing our root chakra rightfully.

2. Sacral Chakra - Svadhistana Chakra

This chakra is related to the humans’ sensuality, sexuality and desire for pleasure. It is situated in the lower abdomen of our body and its color is orange. Svadhistana is associated with the element of water. The functioning of this chakra can be enhanced by belly dancing, through loving relationship with family and spouse, and through yoga. This chakra encourages you to live your passion, whatever it might be. This may include your dreams, how you want to fulfill them and what kind of life do you wish to live.

3. Solar Plexus - Manipura Chakra

Your weight should be equally distributed in both the legs. To distribute weight equally, press your rear foot into the floor. Lengthen and broaden sole of both the feet along with toes, and do not try to grip the floor with the feet.

4. Heart Chakra - Anahata Chakra

Heart Chakra is the fourth chakra of our body, which is associated with air. Since being at the center of our heart, and colored green, this chakra is related naturally to love and compassion. This chakra helps in maintaining healthy relationships, family members, and pet animals; and enhances the nature and beauty of a person. This chakra allows the heart’s energy to flow in and out freely. It will make you open to love that is showered on your near and dear ones, and you in turn will share selfless love with them.

5. Throat Chakra - Vishuddha Chakra

The throat chakra is the communication center where a person speaks truth to the world around. This chakra carried blue color and when it reaches the required level of balance, it provides the practitioner to describe his/her object of desire openly and confidently. This chakra helps the person to communicate openly with the world, without bothering about he/she will get that object or not. Singing, mantra chanting and breathing are very helpful in enhancing the power of this chakra.

6. Third Eye Chakra - Ajna Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is considered as the chakra of meditation with color indigo. This chakra is located between the eyebrows and thus, its core strengths include intuition, insight, awareness and guidance. This chakra can be maintained in good stead by practicing meditation and visualization. It provides inner guidance to the practitioner once the chakra is activated. This helps in decision making and making all the right choices.

7. Crown Chakra - Sahasrara Chakra

This crown chakra is represented by the never-ending space and the spiritual connection. The color of this chakra is violet and it is used by many reiki practitioners for their work and for meditation.

Yoga Poses to Open Chakras

1. For Mooladhara Chakra Warrior, Tree-Pose

Any posture which activates the muscles of the groin area is good to open Muladhara chakra. Warrior, Tree Pose, Utthita Parsva Angushthasana.

2. For Swadhisthana Chakra Chair-pose, Padhastasana

Any pose which stimulates the area between anus and navel is useful for opening Swadhisthana chakra.Chair pose, Padhastasana, Padangusthasana.

3. For Manipura Chakra

Crane pose

All core strengthening poses are very good to open Manipura chakra like Boat pose, Crane pose, Shalbhasana, Puvoittanasana, Paschimottanasana, Tolangulasana, Plank pose, side plank pose, Mayurasana.

4. Anahata Chakra

Camel pose

All back bending poses are good to open the Anahata chakra such Cobra Pose, Ustrasana or Camel pose, Bow pose, Chakrasana or Wheel pose.

5. Vishudhi Chakra

Halasana pose

All neck stretching poses are good to activate the Vishudhi chakra. Halasana or Plough pose, Sarvangasana or Shoulder stand, Matasyasana or Fish pose.

6. Ajana & Sahasradhara Chakra Head-stand, Arm-balancing-pose

Any posture which activates and nourishes the third eye area is good for Ajana chakra. All inversion poses are good to open Ajana & Saharsdhara chakra like Head stand, Arm balancing.

7. Sahasrara Chakra


Any pose which nourishes the crown area is good for opening this chakra. Along with inversion poses, all types of meditation helps to open up Sahasrara chakra.